Quick menu:

This site is showing only England and UK content. Change this using the country filters below or select Ok to accept. This site uses cookies.

  • Help and support

Scotland committee members

Meet our Scotland committee members
  • Print

Maureen McGinn - Scotland Chair

Maureen McGinn has been a member of the Scotland Committee of the Big Lottery Fund since March 2007.

More about Maureen McGinn


Maureen has been Chair of the Scotland Committee and a member of the UK Board of the Fund since 2011. Prior to that, she was a member of the first Scotland committee from its creation in 2007.

Her previous grantmaking experience included running the Laidlaw Youth Project and Trust. She has been a trustee of several charities, including Evaluation Support Scotland and ASH Scotland, an advisor on social justice to the Paul Hamlyn Foundation and co-chair and member of the first Scottish Poverty Truth Commission. Maureen's career has spanned the public and voluntary sectors, including working for a national charity, a trade union and as a senior civil servant.

John Watt - Committee Member

John Watt has been involved in rural development for over 30 years, through his work for HIE and its predecessor the HIDB.

More about John Watt


John recently retired as Director of Strengthening Communities at Highlands and Islands Enterprise, where he had responsibility for HIE’s work with social and community development, including community land ownership and the growth of social enterprises.

He established HIE’s Community Land Unit and was involved in many high profile community buyouts. He helped deliver the first Scottish Land Fund and BIG's Growing Community Assets programme.

John is currently a non-executive director of New Start Highland and High Life Highland, two social enterprises based in his in home town of Inverness. He is also an advisor to the Scottish Government's Land Reform Review Group, and chairs the Scottish Land Fund committee.

Deirdre Robertson - Committee member

Deirdre is a practising artist and poet. She also works as an interim director.

More about Deirdre Robertson


She is currently a Board Member of Craft Scotland, a Council Member for the Society of Scottish Artists and a Panel Member for the Big Lottery Coastal Communities Fund. She previously spent 7 years on the Board of DCA, and 2 years as COO at Tate.

Stella Everingham - Committee member

Stella Everingham is a professionally qualified social worker.

More about Stella Everingham


Over her 30 year career she has worked both in London and in Scotland within Central and Local Government. She was also a Director of Aberlour Childcare Trust and has been a School Board member. Her focus over the years has been on children's services.

Shalani Raghavan - Committee member

Shalani is an in-house consultant with the Scottish Government supporting a range of teams to develop strategic aims for diverse policy areas including health, justice and communities.

More about Shalani Raghavan


Her role is focused on challenging traditional thinking and bringing fresh ideas and approaches with a view to delivering services in a more effective and person-centred way. She is also a qualified lawyer and has spent most of her career in the public sector having worked for Crown Office and also as one of the judicial assistants to Lord Gill, the current Lord President and Lord Justice General of Scotland.

Shalani is a founder and director of Building Futures (Scotland) CIC a female-led construction social enterprise which provides training and support to help women access the construction industry.

Iain Gordon - Committee member

Iain has 25 years’ experience of leading service-oriented organisations in the private and voluntary sectors in the UK, Asia and the Middle East.

More about Iain Gordon


Iain Gordon is the Chief Executive of Bethany Christian Trust, a social transformation charity working to prevent homelessness in Scotland.

He started out in a UK technology research company serving the utility and oil and gas industries before moving overseas to work in technology development and promotion organisations supporting local government toward rural enterprise, community development and national infrastructure development in Nepal.

More recently he worked in the Middle East in a voluntary sector satellite television broadcaster before returning to the UK to take up his current position in 2002.

Iain is a trustee of a number of local and national charities and Third sector forums.

Grant Carson - Committee member

Over the last 25 years Grant Carson has gained experience of the Health, Social Care, Housing and Third sectors.

More about Grant Carson


Grant has experience of working in the Charity and Housing Sectors, and is currently Director, Employment and Housing Services at Glasgow Centre for Inclusive Living where he is currently responsible for developing “Home2Fit – Scotland’s Accessible Housing Register”, a project funded by The Scottish Government to meet the Ministerial commitment in Homes Fit for the 21st Century.

Grant has first-hand experience of the difference Big Lottery funding can make by supporting fresh ideas, innovation and regeneration in Scotland.

Grant has also spent nine years as a Disability Qualified Tribunal Member at the Ministry of Justice helping to provide fair and impartial judicial oversight to the disability benefits appeals system.

For the past eight years he has been a Non-Executive Director with Greater Glasgow and Clyde Health Board, the largest Health Board in Scotland employing over 45,000 people with an annual turnover in excess of £2.9bn.  As a disabled person since childhood, Grant has both personal experience of using NHS services and professional experience of managing at a strategic level NHS services.

Grant is also a Committee member of Horizon Housing Association and ex-Chairperson of Blackwood Housing where he was a board member for 14 years.